Local institute council members celebrated

The latest recipients of the CII Service Awards were recognised at this year’s Network Conference held in May.

The CII benefits greatly from the outstanding service of members who play a role in local institutes, the CII, and the wider industry and it is only right that the CII formally recognises outstanding service.

The awards are available to all CII members who have demonstrated a commitment to the CII, or PFS, at a local, regional or national level.

There are three awards that may be presented:

The Bridgewater Award – this is the highest award, being a combination of the Exceptional and Distinguished awards, and paying tribute for an outstanding contribution to the CII nationally and locally, with the recipient being recognised as a strong leader of the profession.

Exceptional Service Award – this award recognises those who have become champions for their local institute and are great advocates for the CII and the insurance and financial services sector in general.

Distinguished Service Award – this award recognises an individual’s outstanding dedication and long-term contribution to training, development and professionalism as well as commitment to their local institute.

The recipients for the awards awarded at this year’s conference were:

Distinguished Service Award:

· Jim Rennie – Glasgow

· Ian Harris – Birmingham

· Tez Roberts – Birmingham

· Barry Thompson – Manchester

· Derek Cummings – Sheffield

Exceptional Service Award:

· Graham Barton – Cheltenham and Gloucester

· Maureen Noon – Glasgow

· Karen Cartridge – Manchester

· John Bruce – Newcastle upon Tyne

The nomination process for next year’s awards will begin in September so please do start to talk with your fellow council members to discuss anyone who you think may be deserving of one of these awards for the work they have either done nationally or locally.