Protected characteristics

The Equality Act 2010 replaced the previous equalities legislation that evolved over the preceding 45 years. It replaced nine statutes (including The Equal Pay Act 1970, the Sex Discrimination Act 1975, the Race Relations Acts 1975 and 2000, the Disability Discrimination Acts 1995 and 2005) and over 100 other pieces of legislation.

The protected characteristics under Section 4 of the Equality Act 2010 are:

Gender Reassignment
Marriage and Civil Partnership
Pregnancy and Maternity
Religion or Belief (including no belief)
Sexual Orientation

For additional information on each of the protect characteristics please click here.

Supporting Materials

Black History Month podcast - October 2023

Print this section